Shopping

In my experience, Man Shopping is demonstrably different to Woman Shopping when it cones to clothes. I’m not suggesting either is better or worse, they’re just different. Men commonly walk into a clothes shop, see something they like, check the size, and buy it. Women are more likely to want to try things on.

And here I have an underwear problem.

In most cases I Man Shop, but not when it comes to jeans. It seems that in the eyes of Levis, Wrangler and Lee, I am not a standard shape. If the ubiquitous 501s are anything to go by, apparently I have chunky thighs, because if I want a pair of jeans that fit them, it is not uncommon to need to go up at least one waist size. So invariably I’ll try a pair on before I buy them. And when, all too often, I find the cut too restrictive, I’ll try another pair on. And another. It’s definitely Woman Shopping.

Unfortunately social convention stops us from walking around shops in just our underwear. So my routine is …

Jacket off
Boots off
Own trousers off
New trousers on
New trousers off
Own trousers on
Boots on
Jacket on
Fetch another size / cut
Rpt

And quite frankly it’s a pain in the arse! How much more practical would it be if you were allowed to walk around clothes shops in your underwear.

Jacket off
Boots off
Own trousers off
New trousers on
New trousers off
Walk out into the store in just a T-shirt and your briefs (assuming you’re not going commando that day)
Fetch another size / cut
Rpt

WPnkds

And on an entirely tangential note, if you fancy a giggle, try doing an web (image) search for naked shopping. There really are some awesomely sexy people out there!

11 Responses to “Shopping”

  1. What you describe as Man shopping sounds so much like what my son told me a few years back when I was taking him to buy clothes.
    However, your description of jeans shopping sounds very much like what we women experience on a daily basis (think clothes cut to fit anorexic models and real life women…). So I suppose we decided to stop seeing this as bothersome and start enjoying it, by taking our time when shopping, and possibly do it with girlfriends so that it would be even more fun!

  2. Haha did the search and that was very nice. Now off to the shop au natural I think. 🙂

Leave a Reply

