Touch yourself

“I Touch Myself” was the Divinyls’ biggest hit and touched millions of fans around the globe. Released in December 1990, the single was No. 1 on the charts at home and reached the Top 5 in the US.

It is a song that celebrates female sexuality like no other. Like Chrissy, it is bold, brave, and brassy. It rocked our world. And when Chrissy developed breast cancer, it was a song she wanted to become an anthem for spreading awareness about the importance of touching ourselves for early detection of the disease.

As a tribute, Chrissy’s family and friends, her husband Charley Drayton, fellow songwriters, Cancer Council NSW and supporters from around the globe have come together to make sure Chrissy’s legacy lives on to remind women to be in touch with their bodies, and if something’s not right, see their doctor.

You can keep Chrissy’s dream alive by spreading her message. Share the anthem using #itouchmyselfproject on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook & Google+ and show how you’ve been touched by leaving a message of support, singing your version of ‘I Touch Myself’ or by posting an I Touch Myselfie.

Source: itouchmyself.org

6 Responses to “Touch yourself”

  1. Yes, we all should, shouldn’t we? I personally know 7 women who had breast cancer. All in remission for now. Some of them had it in their early 30s, some while pregnant, having to go through chemo with an infant at home.
    Yet, when my doctor gave me a sign to hang in the shower as a reminder on how to proceed with self-examination, my ex took it off, saying he didn’t need a constant reminder of a possible disease. I should probably have left him then already!
    I must say that I don’t do it as regularly as I should. Between you and Anisa, it’s good reminders that I should (we all should really!) take my health a little bit more seriously :-/

  2. I’m thinking about where to share this. Excellent AM!

    Bises,
    Dawn

  3. Good idea. 🙂

  4. Absolutely adored that song! Still have it in my playlist.

Leave a Reply

