Nips and tucks

“Is your wife into rubber?” Leah asked, as she wiped down my latex catsuit. It wasn’t a question I had anticipated, and I found myself momentarily wrong-footed. “Unfortunately not,” was the best I could manage. Whilst I largely skirted round the issue, or at least the implications, it did seem relevant to mention I had designed a matching outfit for my Wife, albeit one that was therefore unlikely to ever get made.

A short while later, she asked “Have you been to Rubber Cult?”
“I wish!” was the first thought to go through my head. Closely followed by again not quite knowing what to actually say. (For those not versed in the UK Fetish scene, Rubber Cult is a regular club event in The Capital.)

wprcl

I explained that whilst I was on their mailing list, and had seen various events I thought would be fun to attend, as my Wife wasn’t into rubber, opportunities didn’t really arise. That conversational avenue was cut short.

Another discussion lead to mention of a party Leah had been to, at a large, upmarket address and of the hostess’ corset. I wondered how one got invited to such parties.

It’s not often I get to meet fellow rubberists. Not in real life anyway. So I guess I hadn’t really thought through what the topics of conversation might be.

I should probably wind the clock back a little.

As you know, Loyal Reader, couple of years back I toyed with a design for a latex catsuit. To cut yet another long story short … I eventually commissioned a rubber couturier to make a revised design. Along the way, the suit had to be re-made as my drawings hadn’t been interpreted as I wanted, and even then, it tore the very first time I tried it on, needing a repair, and the addition of an extra panel just to prevent what had been described ouchies. Even then it really needed a couple more modifications, but at that point the couturier stopped answering my emails. Eventually I gave up, and the catsuit resided largely ignored for about 6 months.

Finally I figured I needed to take matters into my own hands, and did a load of research on how to make latex clothing, so I could make the alterations myself. I procured all the supplies I would need … and then just never got round to it, and the catsuit never got worn.

And one more story cut short: a couple of months back I finally got round to joining Fetlife (largely out of boredom, curiosity, and being slightly frustrated by the lack of kink I get to enjoy). Within a few days, Lena sent me a friends request (or whatever Fetlife calls it). I was slightly surprised as I’d only really been a lurker on the site so far, so I checked out her profile. It turned out that rubber fetish was her business. I usually object to business contacting me like this, but something on her profile caught my eye. She offered one-to-one sessions.

It’s not often I get to meet fellow rubberists. Or at least not knowingly. regrettably I don’t get to spend my weekends hanging out (and I use the term loosely) at fetish clubs, and whilst I’ve known a tiny handful of latex lovers socially (and intimately) over the years, the only usual contact I have with them these days is via the likes of Tumblr or Fetlife. The

But through this chance encounter online, I found myself enjoying a rubbery lesson with Lena.
A tailoring lesson, that is.

WPrtk

The tutorial was really useful, focussing on techniques for disassembling, cutting and glueing latex. All done on my very own catsuit. Although I couldn’t afford as much time as I would have liked, we got through one of the major alterations, leaving only one more to the suit itself. And I gained enough knowledge in just a few hours to feel comfortable embarking on a couple of ancillary projects.

Sadly I’m never going to get much wear out of my rubber catsuit, it has ended up being disproportionately expensive, there will always be doubt in my mind about my colour choice, and I do still have some work to finally get it into the shape I really want, it is now a whole lot closer to what I really wanted, and I can get it the rest of the way with only a little work.

Leave a Reply

